2012 Covenant Health Faculty of Nursing Awards

Winners and Nominees

The nominees and recipients of the 2012 Faculty of Nursing Covenant Health Awards were recognized at a luncheon during National Nursing Week in May.

This recognition program started in 2011. It is an initiative to acknowledge leadership, excellence and teamwork within our community of students, faculty, staff and alumni. Thanks once again to our partners, Covenant Health, Canada’s largest Catholic provider of health care and to Sandra Vanderzee, Director of Professional Practice, who presented the recipients with their awards.

Advancement of Nursing Research Award

Recipient: Kathryn King-Shier
Nominator: Nancy Moules

Outstanding Nursing Graduate Student Award

Recipient: Graham McCaffrey (Doctoral)
Nominator: Shelly Raffin-Bouchal

Teaching Excellence Award

Recipient: Nancy Moules
Nominator: Angela Morck
(Pictured: Graham McCaffrey)

Team Award

Recipient: Nursing Guys Club
Nominator: Kelsey Dorn
(Pictured: Karen Chance)

Nominee: Magda Skwara/Carol Sprague
Nominator: Shannon Parker

Nominee: Semester 3 Team
Nominator: Tracey Clancy

Nominee: Community Action Team 8
Nominator: Sylvia Loewen

Undergraduate Student Award

Recipient: Kate Wong
Nominator: Miriam Tiemstra
Nominator: Kirby Bell
(Accepting for Kate Wong – Riley Simister)

Nominee: Cameron Webber
Nominator: Caroline Godzwon


Recipient: Carol Sprague
Nominator: Shannon Parker

Nominee: Karen Benzies
Nominator: Lorraine Watson

Nominee: Judy Boychuk-Duchscher
Nominator: Graham Courtney