2018 Faculty of Nursing Pursuit of Excellence Awards

Nominees and recipients

The Faculty of Nursing began its successful recognition program in 2011 with generous support from Covenant Health, Canada’s largest Catholic health-care provider.

In 2017, our team of committed committee volunteers re-envisioned the program and have renamed it The Faculty of Nursing Pursuit of Excellence Awards. These awards will continue to recognize the hard work, commitment and success of our students, faculty, staff, alumni and community partners in whom we take great pride.

On May 8, 2018, during National Nursing Week, the nominees and recipients of the 2018 Faculty of Nursing Pursuit of Excellence Awards were recognized at a luncheon in the Senate Room at Hotel Alma. Arielle Manzano, president of the Undergraduate Nursing Society (UNS) was emcee and Dean Dianne Tapp delivered welcoming remarks as well as presented the awards. 

Thanks once again to our awards committee, volunteers and everyone who submitted a nomination this year!

Inspirational Undergraduate Nursing Student Award

Recipient: Leslie Chau
Nominators: Megan D'Souza, Jordan Swiatkowski, Emily Johnston

Nominee: Arielle Manzano
Nominator: Alston Seto

Inspirational Graduate Nursing Student Award

Recipient: Katherine Bright
Nominator: Elizabeth Keys

Nominee: Sylwia Ciezar Andersen
Nominators: Parivash Enghiad and Shaista Sajan

Undergraduate Teaching Award

Recipient: Zenaida Roxas Boerhave 
Nominator: Randip Dhaliwal

Nominee: Heather Bensler
Nominator: Erin Merrin

Nominee: Sandra Strachan
Nominator: Megan D'Souza

Nominee: Bikram Sekhon
Nominator: Katelyn Montieth

Graduate Teaching Award

Recipient: Shane Sinclair
Nominators: Parivash Enghiad and Shaista Sajan

Nominee: Dawn Kingston
Nominator: Karly Jarema

Inspirational Preceptor/Mentor Award

Recipient: Kashif Mughal
Nominators: Sarah Dewell

Nominee: Shane Sinclair
Nominator: Pavneet Singh

Nominee: Kate Wong
Nominator: by Zenaida Roxas Boerhave

Exceptional Alumnus Award

Recipient: Kate Wong
Nominators: Judith Hanson

Nominee: Jacqueline Smith
Nominator: Amy Leach

Outstanding Team Award

Recipient: Grad Programs Office 

  • Jackie Jones 
  • Sladana Kovacevic
  • Alana Moir
  • Shelley Raffin Bouchal
  • Laura Thomas

Nominator: Parivash Enghiad

Nominee: The Child Health Intervention & Longitudinal Development (CHILD) research team 
Nominator: Penny Tryphonopoulos

Above and Beyond Award

Recipient: Dawn Kingston
Nominators: Kashif Mughal and Abdul Wajid

Dawn Kingston not pictured, Kashif Mughal accepted on her behalf.

Nominee: Karen Benzies
Nominator: Sylwia Ciezar Andersen

Nominee: Erika Castillo
Nominator: Nancy Moules

Nominee: Lorraine Venturato
Nominator: Megan D'Souza

Advancing Nursing Spirit Award

Recipient: Arielle Manzano