May 9, 2022

Faculty of Nursing honours community of health-care providers for National Nursing Week

Meet the nursing students, faculty, staff, alumni and community partners who are recipients of 2022 Pursuit of Excellence Awards
2022 Faculty of Nursing Pursuit of Excellence Awards

Each year, the Faculty of Nursing Pursuit of Excellence Awards recognize the hard work, commitment and success of its community of health-care providers. They are UCalgary Nursing students, faculty members, staff and alumni community partners who each make an impact at UCalgary Nursing. 

It began as a successful recognition program in 2011 with generous support from Covenant Health, Canada’s largest Catholic health-care provider. In 2017, UCalgary Nursing's team of committed committee volunteers re-envisioned the program and renamed it The Faculty of Nursing Pursuit of Excellence Awards.

Due to COVID-19, the annual luncheon, always held during National Nursing Week was not held this year. 

"There's never been a better reason and need for us to celebrate the wonderful work that goes on day in and day out in our Faculty of Nursing," says dean Sandra Davidson. "All of our award winners and nominees make this an amazing place to be. You truly represent the pursuit of excellence."

Watch all the acceptance video messages from the 2022 recipients here.

Please join the UCalgary Nursing in honouring the recipients of the 2022 Pursuit of Excellence Awards:

Inspirational Undergraduate Student Award
Harsimrit Lakhyan

Inspirational Graduate Student Award
Jelena Komanchuk

Graduate Teaching Excellence Award
No nominations

Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award
Ashleigh Harrison, sessional instructor

Excellence in Research Award
Lorelli Nowell, assistant professor

Inspirational Mentor Award
Mia Torres Groves, BN'15

Exceptional Alumnus Award
Brenda Marks, BN'86

Outstanding Support Staff Award
Chenwei Lian, admissions officer/program specialist, Graduate Programs Office

Outstanding Team Award
Faculty of Nursing Clinical Placement Team

  • Stacy Oke
  • Rachelle Dahlke
  • Zahra Shajani

Alberta Health Services Student Placement Team

  • Darla Dickson
  • Jessica McAlpine
  • Jacqueline Albers

Committee's Choice Award
Fadumo Robinson, associate chief nursing officer, Alberta Health Services